Judicial Department

The judicial system of South Carolina is composed of the courts, the prosecution, and the defense components. The court system is comprised of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Courts, Family Courts, the Magisterial Courts, Municipal Courts, Probate Courts, and Master-in-Equity Courts. The prosecutorial system is made up of the circuit solicitors and the Attorney General's Office. The defense component includes public defender corporations, court appointed counsel, retained counsel, and the S.C. Commission of Appellate Defense.