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I. NOTICE OF TENTATIVE CREDIT ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURANCE 

RATES 

 

Regulation 69-11.1, Regulation of Credit Insurance, requires the South Carolina Department of 

Insurance (Department) to promulgate tentative rates for credit accident and health insurance by 

August 1st of each year.  The tentative rates are those the Department believes may reasonably be 

expected to produce a loss ratio of not less than fifty percent (50%) in the following calendar year.  

This Bulletin constitutes official notice of the tentative rates for 2025. 

 

The Department has reviewed the last several years’ experience for credit accident and health 

insurance written in conjunction with consumer credit transactions subject to the Consumer 

Protection Code and not including credit accident and health insurance written in conjunction with 

loans subject to the Consumer Finance Law.  The aggregate loss ratio for credit accident and health 

insurance at the prima facie rates were: thirty-five and two tenths percent (35.2%) in 2023, thirty-

eight and four tenths percent (38.4%) in 2022, thirty-six percent (36.0%) in 2021, and thirty-nine 

and two tenths percent (39.2%) in 2020. The Department proposes a 15% reduction to rates in 

2025 due to continued low loss ratio experience.  
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What follows are the tentative single premium rates per $100 of initial indebtedness proposed for 

2025 for credit accident and health insurance: 

 

 
Period 14-Day Retro 30-Day Retro 

12 Months  $1.05   $0.99  

24 Months  $1.42   $1.36  

36 Months  $1.80   $1.73  

48 Months  $2.11   $2.04  

60 Months  $2.41   $2.35  

72 Months  $2.66   $2.60  

84 Months  $2.92   $2.86  

96 Months  $3.10   $3.03  

108 Months  $3.28   $3.22  

120 Months  $3.48   $3.41  

132 Months  $3.66   $3.60  

144 Months  $3.78   $3.71  

156 Months  $3.90   $3.84  

168 Months  $4.03   $3.96  

180 Months  $4.16   $4.10  

 

For periods that do not equal an integral number of years, the rates may be interpolated to the upper 

quarter of a year with finer interpolations permitted to the equivalent of the nearest month.  For 

example, the rates for a period from 0 to 3 months for the 14-day plan would be one-fourth of 

$1.05 or $0.26. 

 

Rates for policies of credit accident and health insurance where the premiums are paid other than 

on a single premium basis must be actuarially equivalent with the rates specified above.  

 

For open-ended monthly outstanding balance policies that are subject to reporting on the 

NAIC Credit Accident and Health Insurance Part 2C blank, insurers should calculate their 

premiums, and then apply an 80% factor. 

 

The Department will not approve rates that deviate from the prima facie rates.  

 

II. OPPORTUNITY FOR A HEARING 

 

Regulation 69-11.1.D.(5) provides that “every insurer which feels aggrieved by any of the rates so 

promulgated shall have fifteen days to request a public hearing with respect to such rate or rates.”  

Accordingly, all requests for a hearing must be submitted to the Department in writing on or before 

August 21, 2024.  Please direct any requests for a hearing to the attention of: 

 

Gwendolyn McGriff 

General Counsel 

South Carolina Department of Insurance 
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Post Office Box 100105 

Columbia, South Carolina 29202-3105 

 

All requests must include documentation supporting your position that the tentative rates for credit 

accident and health insurance need to be changed.  After any requested hearings have been held, 

the final rates or an affirmation of the tentative rates shall be sent to all companies on or 

 around October 1, 2024.   

 

III. QUESTIONS 

 

Any questions or concerns about this Bulletin should be submitted in writing to the attention of: 

 

Andreea Savu, FSA, MAAA 

Actuary 

South Carolina Department of Insurance 

1201 Main Street, Suite 1000 

Columbia, South Carolina 29201 

E-mail:  asavu@doi.sc.gov 
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