Responding to credit & debit card fraud
South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
Credit card fraud , Debit card fraud
While many companies choose not to hold victims responsible for unauthorized purchases, federal laws limit the amount that a cardholder is liable for. Credit card liability ends at $50 if the fraud is reported within 60 days of receiving the bill that includes the fraudulent charges. In the case of debit/ATM card fraud, consumer liability depends on when the consumer notifies the company. The sooner you report the fraud, the less likely you are to have to pay for the charges.
South Carolina State Library
South Carolina State Documents Depository
Copyright status determined to be in the public domain on April 27, 2020 by United States Supreme Court ruling (Georgia et al., Petitioners v. Public.Resource.Org, Inc. : 590 U.S.__(2020))
South Carolina State Document was either saved from a document available publicly online in PDF format or converted to PDF using Adobe Acrobat DC.