Department of Revenue

The South Carolina Department of Revenue administers and enforces the revenue laws of the state; administers the licensing laws and regulations relating to alcoholic liquors, beer, and wine and assess penalties for violations thereof; and other laws specifically assigned to it. The Department of Revenue collects approximately 98% of the state's general fund. Total annual net collections amount to $8.9 billion through all collection and enforcement activities from the 32 taxes administered and other collection activities for which the Department is responsible. The Department of Revenue was created as the South Carolina Tax Commission in 1915 under the authority of Governor I. Manning.