Department of Natural Resources

The history of the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources began in 1905 with the passage of Act 489, which provided for the appointment of game wardens by the governor, and in 1906 Act 60 created the State Board of Fisheries. The current organization of the Department of Natural Resources is composed of the former Wildlife and Marine Resources Department, Water Resources Commission (non-regulatory programs), Land Resources Commission (non-regulatory programs), State Geological Survey (State Geologist), and the South Carolina Migratory Waterfowl Committee. The Department's mission is to serve as the principal advocate for and steward of South Carolina's natural resources.


Sub-communities within this community

Now showing 1 - 4 of 4