Arts Commission

The South Carolina Arts Commission, an autonomous state agency governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners, was created by an act of the state legislature in 1967. Its mission is to build a thriving arts environment for the benefit of all South Carolinians. The Commission's programs and activities fall into three major domains of public participation and service: Artist Development, Arts Education, and Community Arts Development.