South Carolina Historic Rehabilitation Incentives Act

How to Apply the Credit to Your Taxes

The South Carolina Historic Rehabilitation Incentives Act provides income tax credits for the certified rehabilitation of historic properties in the
state. The 10% credit for income-producing projects (for projects taking the federal tax credit for rehabilitation) and the 25% credit for
owner-occupied residences must be taken in installments. The law provides for using the credits in five equal installments beginning with the year
in which the property is placed in service. ‘Placed in service’ means the rehabilitation has been completed and would allow for the intended use.
This sheet provides examples of how the credit might be used in three hypothetical situations.

This is not tax advice. The Department of Archives and History provides this for informational purposes only. Contact your tax professional to
determine how the tax credit may affect your specific tax situation.

Income-producing project — 10% State Income Tax Credit
Adjusted Basis: $ 95,000 (contact your tax professional for this value)
Rehabilitation Costs: $100,000 (must exceed the adjusted basis — federal program requirement)
Tax Credit: $ 10,000 (10% of rehabilitation costs)
Installment: § 2,000 per year for 5 years

Year Taxes Owed Credit Installment Unused Credit Credit Carried Forward Taxes You Pay
($2000 max) (Unused credit is non-refundable)
1 $ 2500 $2000 $ 500
2 3000 2000 1000
3 1500 1500 $500 -0-
4 2000 2000 -0-
5 2000 2000 -0-
6 1500 -0- $500 (from year 3) 1000
7 2000 -0- 2000

Total credit available: $10,000
Total credit used in this example: $10,000

Certified Historic Residential Structure — 25% State Income Tax Credit

Example I — Higher tax liabiliity

Rehabilitation Costs: $60,000 (see list for allowable costs — the minimum is $15,000 over 36 months — all work must be pre-approved)
Tax Credit: $15,000 (25% of rehabilitation costs)
Installment: § 3,000 per year for 5 years

Year Taxes Owed Credit Installment Unused Credit Credit Carried Forward Taxes You Pay
($3000 max) (Unused credit is non-refundable)
1 $ 2500 $2500 $500 § -0-
2 3000 3000 -0- -0-
3 3500 3000 -0- $ 500 (from year 1) -0-
4 2500 2500 500 -0-
5 2500 2500 500 -0-
6 2500 -0- -0- 1000 (from years 4, 5) 1500
7 2500 -0- -0- 2500
Total credit available: $15,000
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Total credit used in this example: $15,000

See reverse for example using a lower tax liability



Certified Historic Residential Structure — 25% State Income Tax Credit
Example II —Lower tax liability
Rehabilitation Costs: $60,000 (see list for allowable costs — the minimum is $15,000 over 36 months — all work must be pre-approved)

Tax Credit: $15,000 (25% of rehabilitation costs)

Installment: $ 3,000 per year for 5 years

Year Taxes Owed Credit Installment Unused Credit Credit Carried Forward Taxes You Pay
($3000 max) (Unused credit is non-refundable)
1 $ 800 $ 800 $ 2200 -0-
2 1000 1000 2000 -0-
3 1100 1100 1900 -0-
4 900 900 2100 -0-
5 1000 1000 2000 -0-
6 1100 -0- 1100 (from year 1) -0-
(carry forward of the remaining
$1100 credit from year 1 expires)
7 1000 -0- 1000 (from year 2) -0-
(carry forward of the remaining
$1000 credit from year 2 expires)
8 1100 -0- 1100 (from year 3) -0-
(carry forward of the remaining
$800 credit from year 3 expires)
9 1000 -0- 1000 (from year 4) -0-
(carry forward of the remaining
$1100 credit from year 4 expires)
10 1100 -0- 1100 (from year 5) -0-
(carry forward of the remaining
$900 credit from year 5 expires)
11 1200 -0- -0- $1200

(all carry forward credits have expired)

Total credit available: $15,000

Total credit used in this example: $10,100
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