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Reasons Payments Are                                 

Delayed or Denied 

                                                               

Legislation 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 Payments may be delayed or denied for the   

 following reasons: 

 
 

 Crime did not occur in SC 

 “Remit to address” is not on the billing statement  

 Providers’ address submitted is not registered with 

S.C. Enterprise Information System (SCEIS) 

 Victims’ name was not found on the law 

enforcement report  

 Untimely filing of claim (claim received after                    

180 days from date of service) 

 The victim was incarcerated at the time of the crime-

alternate services may be available through the 

Prison Elimination Rape Act (PREA) 

 Law enforcement did not order the exam/interview 

for victim 17 and younger 

 

This is not an all-inclusive list 
 

____________________________________________ 

 

 

 

 
 

                       
 

 

 

 

 

Pursuant to Section 16-3-1350 

 

 

South Carolina law which follows the guidance 

of the Federal Violence Against Women Act 

Statute, provides that victims of assault in the 

State of South Carolina may request, at no cost 

to them, a forensic examination for sexual 

assault, regardless of their involvement with 

law enforcement. 

 

 

Sexual Assault Program: DCVC is the Sole 

Reimbursement Provider for Forensic Medical 

Examinations in S.C. Health Care Providers will 

bill DCVC directly; all reimbursements are from a 

fee schedule and are considered payment in full.  

Any injuries sustained beyond the sexual assault 

such as additional physical or psychological 

injuries will be the victim’s responsibility. 

However, the victim may complete a Crime 

Victims’ Compensation Application to assist with 

the additional needs.  Please Note: Law 

enforcement will be involved as the crime victim 

compensation application is processed, unless the 

victim files anonymously. 
 

 
       

www.sova.sc.gov 
               (Please click on the “Provider’s  

               Tab” for additional information) 

Guided by law 

Propelled by humanity 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Office of the Attorney General 
Department of Crime Victim Compensation 

 

Compensation 
Benefits for 
Victims of 

Sexual Assault 
 

 

 
 
              

                  Edgar A. Brown Building  

             1205 Pendleton Street, Room 401 

   Columbia, SC 29201 

          Main Office Phone: 803.734.1900 

Victims Only, Please: 1.800.220.5370 

www.sova.sc.gov 
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Sexual Assault 
(ACUTE) Protocol 

 
 

Evidence collected within 120 hours of the assault for 

victims 18 and older 
 

Eligibility Criteria: 

 The assault Must have occurred in SC 

 South Carolina Law Enforcement Div. (SLED) 

approved Sexual Assault Protocol must be followed 
 

 

   Required Documentation for Payment: 
 DCVC Sexual Assault Protocol (SAP) Billing 

Statement Must be completed and submitted 

 DCVC Medical Examination Release Form Must be 

completed and submitted 

 Payment Must be requested within 180 days from the 

date of service 

 

 

Anonymous Reporting 
 

 (Victims 18 and older) 

 SLED approved protocol Must be followed in the 

same manner and completeness as with a traditional 

law enforcement forensic examination 
 

 

 Please Note: 

 When providing law enforcement information, write in 

  “Anonymous” instead of the name of the law enforcement 

  agency. To establish that the crime happened in SC, the 

  incident county and state jurisdiction is required. 
 

 

 Criteria for Anonymous Waiver Payment: 

 An eligible SAP/CAP claim is on file with DCVC and 

the crime must have occurred in SC 

 The victim sustained physical or psychological 

injuries that were recorded by hospital 

 DCVC must receive a Compensation Application 

with “Anonymous” written in section 4 within 180 

days from the date of the forensic medical 

examination 

 

 

 
 

 

                          Sexual Assault                    
(ACUTE) Protocol Continued 
 

 

NKC – Guidelines for No Evidence Collected: 
 When a victim of sexual assault presents to the hospital 

  but indicates they do not want evidence collected: 
  

 Inform the victim of their options, offering the medical 

forensic exam without evidence collection will follow 

the same procedures and will include a thorough 

examination of the victim within the 72/120 hour time 

frame  

 The NKC box Must be checked on the Medical 

Examination Release Form 

 The SLED Protocol Must be completed and documented 

on page 8 of the SLED Protocol  

                 

Sexual and Physical Assault 
         (Chronic) Protocol   

 

 Evidence collected after 72 hours of the assault -   

 victims 17 and younger 
 

Criteria for Payment: 
 The assault Must have occurred in SC 

 The assault was reported to law enforcement 

 Law enforcement Must order the exam 
 

 Required Documentation for Payment: 
 Pages 1 and 2 of the Child Maltreatment Protocol Billing 

Statement 

 Authorization and release form located in the Child 

Maltreatment Protocol 

 Law Enforcement incident report listing each child as a 

victim 

 Child Physical Abuse claims Must be submitted with a 

Compensation Application along with the Child 

Maltreatment Protocol 

 Payment Must be requested within 180 days from the 

date of service 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

                  Forensic Interview            
Evidence Collection Protocol 

 
 

 

Interviews only ordered by law enforcement for children 17 

and younger or vulnerable adults 
 

Criteria for Payment: 
 The assault Must have occurred in SC 

 The assault was reported to law enforcement 

 Interview Only ordered by law enforcement  

 

Required Documentation for Payment: 

 DCVC Billing Statement; 

 DCVC Forensic Interview Release Form; 

 Law Enforcement Incident Report listing each 

child as a victim; 

 Payment must be requested within 180 days from 

the date of service. 
 

 

Standards: 
 The interview must be performed using standards 

defined by DCVC 

 Interviewer Must be a Masters level licensed Mental 

Health Professional  

 Interviewer Must have participated in at least one 40 

hour specialized forensic interviewer training provided 

through the American Prosecutor’s Research Institute 

(APRI) Finding Words, the National Children’s 

Advocacy Center (NCAC), or the American 

Professional Society on the Abuse of Children 

(APSAC) 

 Interviews Must be conducted at a facility that follows 

a multidisciplinary model 

 
 
 
 
 

____________________________________________ 
If you have questions about the program, criteria and or 
payment requirement, please do not hesitate to contact 

DCVC at 803.734.1900 


