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If you are considering moving to South Carolina or have been a resident for only a short period 
of time, you may have questions about South Carolina’s tax structure. This publication contains 
information for South Carolina’s main state and local taxes. For more details, visit dor.sc.gov or 
call 1-844-898-8542. 
  

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 
South Carolina has a simplified Income Tax structure which follows the federal Income Tax laws. 
South Carolina accepts the adjustments, exemptions, and deductions allowed on your federal 
tax return with few modifications. Your federal taxable income is the starting point in 
determining your state Income Tax liability.  
 

TAX RATES 
Individual Income Tax rates range from 0% to a top rate of 7% on taxable income. Tax brackets 
are adjusted annually for inflation.  
 

DEDUCTIONS 

 You do not pay taxes in this state on property sold in another state. 

 A deduction of 44% is allowed on net long-term capital gains. The South Carolina 
holding period for long-term gains is the same as the federal. 

 You may deduct a portion of your qualified retirement income included in South 
Carolina taxable income. See the SC1040 Instructions for more information. 

 At age 65, all residents are eligible for a deduction from any source of income. See the 
SC1040 Instructions for more information. 

 If you have military retirement income included in your South Carolina taxable income, 
you may make a deduction up to the amount of military retirement income. See the 
SC1040 Instructions for more information.  

 Reserve pay income received from the National Guard or armed forces for annual 
training and weekend drills is exempt from tax. 

 Disability income from a total and permanent disability is deductible. 

 South Carolina does not tax Social Security benefits or railroad retirement. 

 Interest from federal obligations is deductible. 

 You are allowed a deduction for each dependent claimed on your federal Income Tax 
return who had not reached the age of six by December 31 of the tax year.  

 You are allowed a South Carolina dependent exemption for each eligible dependent 
claimed on your federal Income Tax return. 

 A deduction is allowed for a special needs adopted child. 
 

CREDITS 

 A refundable tuition credit for tuition paid to South Carolina colleges may be available 
for those who qualify. Beginning with the 2018 tax year, the credit is 50% of tuition paid, 

https://dor.sc.gov/
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not to exceed $1,500 per tax year, for 2-year and 4-year institutions.  

 Beginning with tax year 2018, full year or part-year resident taxpayers may claim a 
refundable credit for the lesser of the increase in South Carolina Motor Fuel User Fee 
they paid or the preventative maintenance costs they incurred in South Carolina during 
the tax year. 

 A two-wage earner credit allows married couples to take a if both spouses work. For tax 
year 2019, the credit cannot exceed $257. 

 A maximum credit of $300 is available for payments of in-home nursing care. 

 A credit is allowed for taxes paid to another state on income taxable in both states. 

 A child and dependent care credit allows an individual to claim 7% of federal allowable 
expenses. 

 Beginning with tax year 2018, full-year residents may claim the non-refundable South 
Carolina Earned Income Tax Credit if they were allowed the Federal Earned Income Tax 
Credit on their federal return.  

 
See the SC1040TC for more information on available tax credits. 

 

ADDITIONS TO INCOME 
Certain items of income must be added back to your federal taxable income. 

 If any out of state losses were subtracted on your federal Income Tax, they must be 
added back to your taxable income on your state return. 

 The deduction on your federal return for state Income Tax paid may need to be added 
back to your taxable income on your state return. 

 

PART-YEAR RESIDENT 
If you moved to South Carolina during the year, you are considered a part-year resident. As a 
part-year resident, you may file as a full-year resident or a non-resident. 
 
If you file as a part-year resident, you will claim all of your income as though you were a 
resident for the entire year and take credit for any taxes paid in another state. As a non-
resident, you will report only income earned in South Carolina. Your deductions and 
exemptions will be prorated by the same percentage as your South Carolina income compared 
to your total income. You may choose the method which benefits you best.  
 

FILING YOUR RETURN 
Generally speaking, you are required to file a South Carolina Income Tax return if you are 
required to file a federal return, or if you are a non-resident with South Carolina gross income 
of more than the federal personal exemption amounts.  
 
You can file your South Carolina tax return in one of several ways: 

 Electronic filing using a professional tax preparer or available commercial software 
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 SCDOR website using available vendors 

 Paper return 
 
Individual Income Tax returns are due April 15 of each year. However, if you file and pay your 
South Carolina return electronically, you have until May 1 of each year to file and pay without 
incurring a penalty. This deadline does not apply to federal Income Tax returns or to taxpayers 
filing paper returns.  

 

ESTIMATED TAX 
Estimated Tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is not subject to withholding. 
Examples include income from self-employment, interest, rent, dividends, alimony, capital 
gains, and prizes. You may also have to pay Estimated Tax if there was not enough tax withheld 
from your salary or other income. Estimated Tax is paid in quarterly installments on April 15, 
June 15, September 15, and January 15. 
 

ESTATE TAX 
South Carolina does not impose an estate tax or a gift tax. 
 

PROPERTY TAXES 
Counties, cities, and school districts are authorized to impose ad valorem taxes on real and 
personal property. Local governments assess and collect most property taxes which support 
public schools and services.  
 

RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY 
The market value of an owner-occupied legal residence is assessed at 4% of fair market value. 
This market value is determined as a result of a periodic countywide reassessment. The millage 
rate of the local government is then applied to the assessed value resulting in the tax liability. 
The millage rate is set by local governments and varies throughout the state.  
 
The fair market value of owner-occupied residential property receiving the 4% assessment rate 
is exempt from all property taxes imposed for school operating purposes. A taxpayer qualifies 
for the legal residence rate by filing an application at the county assessor’s office where the 
property is located. You must provide proof that you reside in the home. This proof may 
include, among other things, the South Carolina Driver’s License and Motor Vehicle 
registrations which show the property address. 
 
Millage rates vary from county to county, and you would need to check with officials in the 
county where you wish to reside in order to estimate your property tax liability. 
 
If you are 65 or older, or legally blind or permanently and totally disabled, and you have resided 
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in South Carolina for a full calendar year,  you are eligible for a homestead exemption of 
$50,000 from the value of your home.  
 
The assessment ratio on a second home owned by you is 6%. Property tax relief does not apply 
to a second home. The exemption for school operating purposes does not apply to a second 
home. 
 
To find out more about tax on real estate, contact the assessor in the county where you live or 
plan to reside. 

 

VEHICLE PROPERTY 
Personal property taxes are collected annually on cars, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, 
boats, boat motors, and airplanes, based on values listed in national publications supplied to 
counties by the SCDOR. 
 
The value of your vehicle is multiplied by the assessment ratio (6% for personal motor vehicles) 
to determine the assessed value. The applicable millage rate is multiplied by the assessed value 
to determine the amount of personal property tax that you owe.   
 
For more information about personal property tax, contact the auditor’s office in the county 
where you plan to reside. 
 

SALES AND USE TAX 
South Carolina’s general state Sales and Use Tax rate is 6%. In certain counties, local Sales and 
Use Taxes are imposed in addition to the 6% state rate. The general local Sales and Use Tax 
collected on behalf of local jurisdictions is for school projects, road improvements, capital 
projects, and other purposes.  
 
Prescription medicines, dental prosthetics, electricity, natural gas and fuel oil used for 
residential purposes are exempt from the state and local Sales and Use Tax. South Carolina 
residents age 85 or older are exempt from 1% of the state Sales Tax rate. A maximum Sales Tax 
of $500 is imposed on the purchase of motor vehicles, motorcycles, boats, recreational vehicles 
and airplanes.  
 
Use Tax is imposed on purchases made out-of-state when an equal amount of Sales or Use 
Tax was not paid in the other state at the time of purchase. If you purchase goods from the 
internet, catalogs, television shopping networks, or other out-of-state businesses and did not 
pay Sales Tax, you must report and pay the 6% state rate and any applicable local Use Tax 
rate due in South Carolina. Use Tax can be conveniently reported on South Carolina’s 
Individual Income Tax return. You may also download the Use Tax form, UT-3, from the 
SCDOR’s website. 

https://dor.sc.gov/forms/find-a-form
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The ST-500 lists the current Sales and Use Tax rates by county at the time of publication. 
This chart is revised periodically to reflect changes in the Sales Tax rate. Counties can impose a 
new tax rate at any time, which would impact the tax rates shown. A complete updated map 
of all counties with local taxes can be found at dor.sc.gov/tax/sales. 
 

MOTOR FUEL FEE 
South Carolina imposes a user fee included at the pump (more commonly referred to as a 
gas tax) on each gallon of gasoline, diesel fuel, or other fuel used for the propulsion of 
motor vehicles. In addition to the user fee, there is imposed a one-fourth cent (.0025) 
inspection fee and a one-half cent (.0050) environmental impact fee per gallon of motor fuel. 
The Motor Fuel User Fee will increase by $0.02 per gallon on July 1 every year until 2022. 
 

Effective Dates of Motor Fuel User Fee Increases Motor Fuel User Fee Per Gallon* 

July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018 $0.18 

July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019 $0.20 

July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020 $0.22 

July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021 $0.24 

July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022 $0.26 

July 1, 2022  $0.28 

 
For information regarding vehicle registration, driver’s licenses and more, please contact the 
South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles or visit scdmvonline.com. 

 

NEED MORE INFORMATION? 
Visit us at dor.sc.gov for information on all major South Carolina taxes, advisory opinions, and 
tax forms. Connect with the SCDOR on Facebook and Twitter for up-to-date news and 
announcements. 
 
For more information regarding South Carolina State Government, visit sc.gov. 
  

FIND A TAXPAYER SERVICE CENTER 
Visit dor.sc.gov or call 1-844-898-8542 to find an SCDOR location near you. 

https://dor.sc.gov/tax-index/sales-and-use/Sales%20Notices/ST500.pdf
https://dor.sc.gov/tax/sales
http://scdmvonline.com/
https://dor.sc.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/DOR.SC.GOV/
https://twitter.com/scdor
https://sc.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://dor.sc.gov/contact/in-person

