SCSL Digital Collections

Unified carrier registration agreement

ltem Type Text
Publisher South Carolina State Library
Rights Copyright status undetermined. For more information contact,

South Carolina State Library, 1500 Senate Street, Columbia, South
Carolina 29201.

Download date 2024-08-24 22:57:53

Link to Item http://hdl.handle.net/10827/28234



http://hdl.handle.net/10827/28234

Mark Sanford Marcia S. Adams
Governor Director

State of South Carolina

Department of Motor Vehicles

Renewal 2010
UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION AGREEMENT
If you offer services as a freight forwarder, broker or leasing company and you make

arrangements for the transportation of cargo and goods in interstate or international commerce,
the federal Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCR) applies to your business.

The UCR requires individuals and companies that provide freight forwarding, brokering or
leasing services in interstate or international commerce to register their business with South
Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor Carrier Services and pay an annual fee of $76.00.
The revenues generated will be used for enforcement of motor carrier safety programs.

If you operate as a Motor Carrier For-Hire or a Private Motor Carrier UCR requires that you
register with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and pay an annual fee based on
the number of power units that you currently have in your fleet.

You must register prior to July 15, 2010 in order to be in compliance.

Included in this mailing is a UCR application form and instruction sheet. To avoid delays it is
highly recommended that you register on-line at the UCR web system hosted by the Indiana
Department of Revenue. Go to www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step by step instructions.
Payments may be made on-line using MasterCard, Visa or e-Check.

Payments by mail must be made by money order or check made payable to the South Carolina
Department of Motor Vehicles. Please place your USDOT # on the front of your check. Mail
your payment together with your completed UCR application form to: South Carolina
Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor Carrier Services, P. O. Box 1498, Blythewood, South
Carolina 29016

If you would like to learn more about UCR go to www.ucr.in.gov or call 803-896-3870.

Post Office Box 1498, Blythewood, South Carolina 29016



Unified Carrier Registration Plan and Agreement FAQs

What is the Unified Carrier Registration Plan and Agreement?

The Unified Carried Registration (UCR) Plan and Agreement are part of a Federally-mandated, State-
administered program that went into effect September 10, 2007. Under this program, States collect
fees from motor carriers, motor private carriers, freight forwarders, brokers and leasing companies,
based on the number of qualifying commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) in their fleets.

What are the Unified Carrier Registration fees for 2010?

FEES UNDER THE UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PLAN AND AGREEMENT

FOR REGISTRATION YEAR 2010

Number of CMVs owned or operated by|Fee per entity for exempt or non- .
. . Fee per entity for
exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, | exempt motor carrier, motor .
Bracket . . . . . . broker or leasing
motor private carrier, or freight private carrier, or freight
company
forwarder forwarder
B1 0-2 S 76 S 76
B2 3-5 S 227 -
B3 6-20 S 452 --
B4 21-100 S 1,576 --
B5 101-1,000 S 7,511 --
B6 1,001 and above $73,346

Why did the 2010 fees increase from last year?

The statute requires the UCR Plan’s board and FMCSA to set a fee structure that enables the
participating States to collect the same amount of revenue (almost $108 million) that they collected
under the SSRS program for the 2004 registration period. Given that the UCR Plan experienced a
shortfall in revenue that averaged almost $30 million for each of the first three years of the program,
the 2010 fees were adjusted from previous years. In addition, in 2008, the statute was amended so that,
beginning in 2010, only power units would be counted as qualifying CMVs.



Unified Carrier Registration Plan and Agreement FAQs

Why were the fees lowered from the NPRM to the final rule?

The fees were adjusted in response to public comments FMCSA received after the issuance of the
NPRM. The adjustment was made primarily from a change in the bracket shift factor. In the NPRM,
FMCSA considered a bracket shift factor of 25% to account for departures from the expected number of
CMVs used to determine the applicable fees. The final rule used a 15% bracket shift factor. The result is
a downward adjustment in fees proposed in the NPRM, although the fees increased in each fee bracket
(compared to the previous fees) in order to obtain full funding for the participating States.

Why did the fee take so long to be approved?

FMCSA received numerous comments for and against the proposed adjustment were submitted that
were considered by the agency. The comment period was extended to ensure that both States and
Industry interests had an opportunity to submit their views. Additionally, the UCR rule was deemed as
“significant” meaning that the final rule had to undergo additional review by both the Secretary of
Transportation and the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in the Office of Management and
Budget.

What do States do with the UCR revenue?

The revenue generated from this program is to be used for CMV safety and enforcement initiatives as
well as administration of the UCR program.



SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION FORM - YEAR 2010
It is highly recommended that you use the following link to register online
WWW.UCR.IN.GOV.

Motor Carrier Services Telephone No. 803-896-3870

SECTION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION

DOT Number MC or MX Number Number elephone Number -ax Number

Legal Name E-Mail Address

Doing Business Under The Following Name (DBA)

Principal Place OF Business Street Address (See Instructions)

Principal Business City Principal Business State Zip Code

Mailing Street Address

Mailing City Mailing State Mailing Zip Code

SECTION 2. CLASSIFICATION — Check All That Apply
] Motor Carrier [] Motor Private Carrier ] Broker [] Leasing Company [] Freight Forwarder

SECTION 3. FEES DUE-BROKERS, FREIGHT FORWARDERS AND LEASING COMPANIES ONLY
Note: If your company is also a motor carrier or motor private carrier, skip this section and go to section 4.

Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (not combined with a motor carrier entity), please submit the amount
due of $76 in the form of payment acceptable by your base state and go to Section 7.

SECTION 4. NO. OF MOTOR VEHICLES- MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER
Check only one box:

] The number of vehicles shown below has been taken from section 26 of your last reported MCS-150 form.
[ ] The number of vehicles shown below is the total number owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30, 2009.
NUMBER OF MOTOR COACHES, SCHOOL

LINE NUMBER OF STRAIGHT TRUCKS TOTAL
BUSES, MINI-BUSES, VANS AND LIMOUSINES
NO. AND TRACTORS (COLUMN A) (COLUMN B) (COLUMN C) (COLUMN D)
1.
Subtract:

e The number of vehicles on Line 1 in Column C above that has a vehicle capacity of 10 or less
2. passengers, including the driver.

e (Optional) The number of vehicles on Line 1 in Column A above that is used only in intrastate ( )
commerce.
(Optional) Add a number of vehicles not shown on Line 1 above that are:

e Commercial motor vehicles operating solely in intrastate commerce. (See instructions for
3. definition of commercial motor vehicle.)

e Used in commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation and have a GVWR or
GVW of 10,000 Ibs or less, or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver.

4. | Total Number of Vehicles (Line 1 minus Line 2 plus Line 3)
SECTION 5. FEE TABLE

Number of Vehicles Amount Due Number of Vehicles| Amount Due N\l;g;]?;;:f Amount Due
0-2 $76 6-20 $452 101-1000 $7,511
3-5 $227 21-100 $1,576 1001 or more $73,346

Using the number of vehicles in Section 4, Line 4 above, enter the Amount Due from the table above.
Checks must be payable to SCDMV. Mail application to SCDMV,MCS/UCR, P. O. Box 1498, $
Blythewood, SC 29016

SECTION 7. CERTIFICATION

I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, certify that the above information is true and correct and that | am authorized to execute and file

this document on behalf of the applicant. (Penalty provisions subject to the laws of the registration state.)
Name Of Owner Or Authorized Representative (Printed) Date

Signature Title



http://www.ucr.in.gov/

Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration

What is my base state for UCR?
(A) If your principal place of business as completed in Section 1 of the form is AK, AL, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, GA, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA,
ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NM, NY, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI or WV, you must use that state
as your base state. If your principal place of business is not in one of these states, go to (B).
(B) If your principal place of business is not one of the states listed in (A) above but you have an office or operating facility located in one of the states
listed in (A) above, you must use that state as your base state.
(C) If you cannot select a base state using (A) or (B) above, you must select your base state from (A) above that is nearest to the location of your
principal place of business; or
(D) Select your base state as follows:
a. Ifyour principal place of business is in DC, MD, NJ, or VT or the Canadian Province of ON, NB, NL, NS, PE, or QC, you may select one
of the following states: CT, DE, MA, ME, NH, NY, PA, RI, VA, or WV.
b.  If your principal place of business is in FL or a state of Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AL, AR, GA, KY, LA, MS,
NC, OK, SC, TN, or TX.
c.  Ifyour principal place of business is in the Canadian Province of ON, MB or NU, you may select one of the following states: 1A, IL, IN,
KS, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, or WI.
d. If your principal place of business is in AZ, HI, NV, OR, or WY or the Canadian Province of AB, BC, MB, NT, NU, SK, or YT or a state
of Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AK, CA, CO, ID, MT, ND, NM, SD, UT, or WA.
Change of Base State
= If you selected your base state using (C) or (D) above and your principal place of business has moved to a qualified state in (A) or (B) above, you
may at the next registration year change your base state to a state listed in (A) or (B).
Section 1. — General Information
= Enter all identifying information for your company. The owner and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for your USDOT number (See
http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx). Enter the principal place of business address that serves as your headquarters and where your
operational records are maintained or can be made available.
Section 2. — Classification (Definitions)
= “Motor carrier” means a person providing motor vehicle transportation for compensation.
= “Motor private carrier” means a person who provides interstate transportation of property in order to support its primary line of business.
= “Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier, who sells or arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation.
= “Freight forwarder” means a person who arranges for truck transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire carriers to provide the
actual truck transportation, and also performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and distribution of shipments and assumes
responsibility for transportation from place of receipt to destination.
= “Leasing company” means a person or company engaged in the business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles they own without
drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.
Section 3. - Fees Due-Brokers, Freight Forwarders and Leasing Companies
= Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay the lowest fee tier. If your company is also a motor carrier (whether private or for-hire) you
will skip this section of the application.
Section 4. - No. Of Motor Vehicles— Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the vehicle count for the numbers you entered into the table in this section.
= Line 1. In the table, enter the number of commercial motor vehicles you reported on your last MCS-150 form or the total number of commercial
motor vehicles owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30 of the year immediately prior to the year for which the UCR
registration is made. This table includes owned and leased vehicles (term of lease for more than 30 days). Do not include any trailer counts in
Columns A, C or D on this line. Changes in the law for the year 2010 have excluded trailer counts in determining fees under this program.
= Line 2. Subtract the number of vehicles designed to transport 10 passengers or less, including the driver, that are included in Column C of Line
1. (Optional). You may also subtract the number of property carrying vehicle(s) used solely in intrastate commerce (never used to carry interstate
freight) that you included in Section 4, Columns A. You may not enter on this line the number of passenger carrying vehicles included in Column
C that were used solely in intrastate commerce. You must maintain a list of vehicles you deleted under this option.
=  Line 3. (Optional). You may add the number of owned commercial motor vehicles (straight trucks, tractors, motor coaches, school buses, mini-
buses, vans or limousines) that were used only in intrastate commerce if they were not included in Column A or C above. You may also include on
this line the number of other self propelled vehicles used in interstate or intrastate commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation
that are not defined as a commercial motor vehicle that have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of 10,000 Ibs or less or a
passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver.
=  Line 4, Total Number of Vehicles. Total the number of vehicles shown in Column D. Use this total and go to the fee table in Section 5. Pay the
amount due for your total number of vehicles.
= Definition - “Commercial motor vehicle” (as defined under 49 USC Section 31101) means a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in
commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle: (1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of at least
10,001 pounds, whichever is greater; (2) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers, including the driver; or (3) Is used in transporting
material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under section 5103 of this title and transported in a quantity requiring placarding
under regulations prescribed by the Secretary under section 5103.”
Section 5. — Fee Table for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon the number of vehicles reported in Section 4. This fee may change from year to
year. Contact your base state if you do not have the fee table for the correct registration period.
Section 6. — Fee Due for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in Section 4._Checks must be payable to SCDMV.
Section 7. — Certification

®  The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form. This certification indicates
that the information is correct under penalty of perjury.
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