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Important Information  
 

 READ THIS GUIDE CAREFULLY AND REFER TO IT AS NEEDED.  
 If you change your address or move to another town or state, update your address in 

the MyBenefits portal at mybenefits.dew.sc.gov. Your Unemployment Insurance benefit 
payments may be delayed if we do NOT have your correct address.. 

 You must report any wages earned, or employment performed, when you are filing a 

claim for benefits. 

 IF YOU RETURN TO WORK and report earnings in excess of your weekly benefit 
amount, you must stop filing your weekly claims each week.  If you separate from this 
employment, you must file a new application for benefits. 

 If you are working less than full-time and earning less than your weekly  benefit 

amount, you can file a claim for partial benefits. 

 When filing your claim for Unemployment Insurance benefits, you must be registered  
for work through SC Works Online Services at jobs.scworks.org.. Once there is an 
active application established in that office, you must stay in contact once every 90 
days. 

You are expected to seek full-time work (or part-time, if approved by the Department) 

in your last occupation and in any other suitable work for which you have training or 

experience. 

 

Statements in this book are intended for 
informational purposes only and do not have 

the effect of law, regulation, or ruling. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Privacy Act Statement 
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The Privacy Act of 1974 requires that you be furnished this statement because you are being 
asked to furnish your Social Security number on the claim forms given to you. Your Social 
Security number is solicited under the authority of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 
(26U.S.C85, 6011(a), 6050(b), and 6109(a)). Disclosure of your Social Security number for this 
purpose is MANDATORY and must be entered on the forms you submit to claim Unemployment 
Insurance.  
 
Your Social Security number will be used to report your Unemployment Insurance to the Internal 
Revenue Service as income that is potentially taxable; it will be used as a record index for 
processing your claim, for statistical purposes, and to verify your eligibility for Unemployment 
Insurance and other public assistance benefits. Should you decline to disclose your Social 
Security number, your claim for unemployment insurance will not be processed. 

Equal Opportunity is the Law 
 

There is a prohibition from discriminating on the ground(s) of race, color, religion, sex, national 
origin, age, disability, political affiliation or belief, and for beneficiaries only, citizenship/status or 
participation  in programs funded under the Workforce Investment Act (WIA), in admission or 
access to, opportunity or treatment in, or employment in the administration of or in connection 
with, any DEW program or activity. Complaints may be filed within 180 days  from the date of 
the alleged violation with EO Officer, South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce, 
P.O. Box 908, Columbia, S.C.  29202, Telephone (803) 737-2381, TTY Relay Service- dial 711,  
or you may file a complaint directly with the Director, Civil Rights Center (CRC), U.S. 
Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Avenue NW, Room N-4123, Washington, D.C. 20210. 
 
If you elect to file your complaint with DEW, you must wait until the Department issues a 
decision or until 90 days have passed, whichever is sooner, before filing with CRC. If the 
Department has not provided you with a written decision within 90 days of filing the complaint, 
you need not wait for a decision to be issued but may file a complaint with CRC within 30 days  
of the expiration of the 90 day period. If you are dissatisfied with the Department's resolution of 
your complaint, you may file a complaint with CRC. Such a complaint must be filed within 30 
days of the date you received notice of the Department's proposed resolution. 
 

Income and Eligibility Verification Notice 
 

In accordance with Public Law 98-369 Amended Title XI of the Social Security Act, an income 
and eligibility verification system has been established to exchange information among state 
agencies administering UI, TANF, Food Stamps, SSI, Medicaid, Child Support Programs, or 
Housing Authorities. 
 
The information you provide the SCDEW when filing a claim for unemployment insurance will be 
held confidential but may be shared by other state agencies administering programs mentioned 
above.  

Unemployment Insurance Benefits 

 
DEW pays Unemployment Insurance benefits to workers who are unemployed and meet all 
eligibility requirements. Workers pay no part of the cost of Unemployment Insurance, and their 
employers are prohibited by law from deducting anything from their pay for this purpose. The 
employer pays the full cost of unemployment benefits.  
 
This system of insurance was established to assist workers between jobs, to maintain 
purchasing power, and to limit the serious effects of unemployment on the community and state. 
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Unemployment Insurance is not a form of relief or public assistance. Benefit payments are not 
based on need but on wages paid (see page 7). 

Eligibility Requirements 
 

 When you file a claim for benefits for any week, you must meet these eligibility requirements: 
1.  Be unemployed. You can, however, meet this requirement even though you have worked 

during the week, if you have worked less than full-time because of lack of work and 
earned less than your weekly benefit amount. When filing weekly claims, you must report 
all work performed and wages earned during the week, even if you have not been paid, 
and you must seek full-time work unless otherwise told by DEW. 

2.  Be separated through no fault of your own from your most recent bona fide employer. 
The most recent bona fide employer is the most recent work or employer from which you 
separated and earned eight (8) times your weekly benefit amount.  

3. You must be ABLE TO WORK. 
4.  You must be AVAILABLE FOR WORK. This means you must be willing and ready to take 

any suitable employment offered to you. 
5. You must, periodically, REPORT TO AN SC WORKS CENTER AS DIRECTED. If you 

expect to be away from your SC Works Center when scheduled to report, please notify a 
UI claims representative in advance by calling TelClaim at 1.866.831.1724 from 8:30 a.m. 
to 4 p.m. weekdays. Failure to report as directed could result in a denial of benefits. 

6. SC Works and DEW will make every effort to assist you in finding suitable work; however, 
YOU ARE REQUIRED TO ACTIVELY SEEK FULL-TIME WORK OR PART-TIME WORK 
IF ALLOWED ON YOUR OWN BEHALF IN A SUITABLE OCCUPATION AND TO APPLY 
FOR SUCH WORK in order to remain eligible for benefits during a period of 
unemployment. Failure to do so may result in your being held ineligible for benefits due to 
unavailability. 
 

*Claimants who worked the majority of their weeks in part-time employment during their base 
period will only be required to look for part-time work during their period of unemployment, if 
approved by the Department. 

Unemployment Compensation for Federal Employees 
 

If you have been employed by the federal government, you may be eligible for Unemployment 
Insurance benefits based on wages paid to you as a federal civilian employee.  
Unemployment Insurance for federal employees is computed and paid in accordance with state 
law. 
 

Any federal civilian employment, during the base period described in this document, should be 
reported on the MyBenefits portal if you have not already done so. 
 

After your claim has been processed, you may receive an Affidavit of Federal Civilian Service 
(Form ETA-935) in the mail requesting wage and separation information. This form should be 
completed and mailed to your SC Works Center with proof of employment and wages (i.e. leave 
and earnings statement, W2, etc). This information will be used to estimate your benefits if the 
federal employer does not respond within the time limit allowed. To expedite the monetary 
determination, you should provide SC Works Center with the Standard Form 8 or Standard 
Form 50, which should be proved to you upon separation.  

Unemployment Compensation for Ex-Service members (UCX) 
 

You may be eligible for unemployment benefits if you completed your first full term of service 
and were separated under honorable conditions. Ex-service members who did not complete 
their first full term of service and were separated honorably for certain "acceptable narrative 
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reasons" may qualify. These acceptable narrative reasons are provided to the states by the US 
Department of Labor and will be evaluated when a claim is filed. 
 
You must provide a copy of your DD214 upon submission of your claims application. Member 
Copy 4 is the most acceptable version. However, worksheets are not acceptable.  

School Worker Claims 
 

Section 3304(a)(6)(A) of the Federal Unemployment Tax Act states that employees of 
educational institutions and educational service agencies will be ineligible to receive 
Unemployment Insurance (based on such service) between academic years or terms and 
during vacation or holiday periods within terms, if the employee is ruled to have a 
REASONABLE ASSURANCE of performing services with that employer the following year, 
term, or remainder of term. However, you may be eligible to receive Unemployment Insurance 
benefits if you have sufficient wages to establish a claim without using school wages. 

Pension Reduction 
 

Due to provisions of federal law, South Carolina was required to amend its law to allow for the 
deduction of certain types of pensions from unemployment benefits. A pension is deductible 
only if it meets two criteria: 1.The pension must be based on YOUR work; and 2. The pension 
must be provided by a base period or chargeable employer. Your pension is deductible at the 
percentage that was contributed by your employer. Military pension is deductible at 100 percent. 
 
When you file your claim, it is your responsibility to make your UI claims representative aware of 
any pension you are receiving now or may receive in the future. 

Official Court Appearances and Benefit Eligibility 
 

You will not be denied Unemployment Insurance benefits for any week in which you are 
required, by law, to appear in court as a witness or to serve as a juror. However, your weekly 
benefits will be reduced by any amount of money you receive for serving on jury duty, and that 
money must be reported as earnings. Serving on jury duty does not exclude you from making 
an active search for work during each week you claim unemployment benefits. 

Benefits Are Based On Wages Paid 
 

Unemployment Insurance benefits are based on wages paid for insured work in a one-year 
period called a "standard base period." The base period is the first four of the last five 
completed calendar quarters that are prior to the initial claim. (See chart at the end of this guide 
for an example of a base period.) 
 
The "alternate base period" is the four most recently completed calendar quarters, including "lag 
quarter" wages - the most recently completed quarter preceding the effective date of your initial 
claim. The alternate base period can be used only when you do not qualify for unemployment 
compensation using the standard base period. To use the alternate base period, no wages from 
federal, military, or out-of-state employment can be missing. 
 
Only wages earned with an employer who is covered by the SC Code may be counted as base 
period wages. Generally, employment in construction, in factories, mills, shops, stores, offices, 
banks, mines, and other places of business employing one or more persons, is covered. The 
law does not cover some farm labor, some domestic service in private homes, and a few other 
types of employment. 
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Initial Determination 
 

After you file your initial claim, you will receive a notice which displays your wages from all 
covered employers during the base period, and informs you whether the wages are enough to 
qualify for benefits. If you have enough wages to qualify, you have established a benefit year. 
 
If you do not qualify for benefits using the standard base period, an alternate base period claim 
will be filed provided you worked during the lag quarter. A notice will be mailed to you informing 
you whether the wages are sufficient to qualify using the alternate base period. 

Benefit Year 
 

Your benefit year will run one (1) year from the effective date of your first or new claim. During 
this benefit year, you may receive a weekly benefit amount for each week in which you are 
unemployed  and otherwise meet the eligibility requirements of the law, until the maximum 
benefit amount, as shown on the initial determination, has been paid to you. 
 
If you exhaust your maximum benefit amount before the end of the benefit year, you must wait 
until the end of the benefit year before you may file a new initial claim for benefits. However, in 
order to be eligible during a second benefit year, you must earn at least eight (8) times your 
weekly benefit amount after the effective date of the first claim. 

Waiting Period 
 

If you are determined to be monetarily eligible for benefits, you must serve a waiting week for 
which you will not receive benefits. You must be totally or partially unemployed during this 
waiting week and meet all other eligibility requirements of the law. 
 
Waiting weeks are not served prior to any period of disqualification. 

Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount 
 

The SC Code provides for a flexible, maximum weekly benefit amount, which shall be 
determined each year by the Department. 
 
An insured worker's weekly benefit amount shall be approximately 50 percent of his average 
weekly wage. However, no insured worker's weekly benefit amount shall be less than $42 nor 
greater than the maximum weekly benefit amount determined by the Department. However, the 
maximum weekly benefit amount cannot exceed $326.  

To Establish a Weekly Benefit Amount: 
 
 You must meet three (3) requirements under the law:  

1. You must have been paid wages of at least $1,092 in covered employment during the 
high quarter of your base period;  

2. You must have been paid a minimum of $4,455 in covered employment during your 
base period; AND 

3. Your total base period wages must equal or exceed one and one-half times the total of 
your high quarter wages. 

 
If you have sufficient wages, your weekly benefit amount will be established in accordance with 
the following procedure. 
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Maximum Benefits: 
 Your maximum total benefit amount for this benefit year is the LESSER of:  
 1.  Twenty (20) times your weekly benefit amount, or 

 2.  One-third (1/3rd) of your total base period wages. Please note 
   that under this calculation method, your final payment may be less  
   than the full weekly benefit amount.  

 
Example: 
 High Quarter Wages ............................................................................ ..$1,092 
 Base Period Wages ............................................................................. ..$4,455 
   Average Weekly Wage………………………..…………..$1,092/13 = $84 
   Weekly Benefit Amount…………………………………………$84/2 = $42 

 1. 20 x $42 ........ ……………………………………………………………...=$840 

 2. 1/3rd of $4,455 ......................................... …………………………….=$1,485 
 Maximum benefits would be $840 since that amount is less than $1,485. 
  
To determine how many weeks your benefits will last at the full weekly benefit amount, divide 
your maximum amount by the weekly benefit amount. 
  
If during your base period, standard or alternate, you earned wages in covered employment that 
were not shown on your initial (first) determination, or if your initial determination lists wages that 
were not earned by you, you may request a redetermination of your claim, by contacting a UI 
claims representative at 1.866.831.1724 from the hours of 8:30 a.m.to 4 p.m. weekdays. 

Disqualification 
 

Although you may have sufficient wages to qualify for benefits, you may be disqualified under 
the following conditions: 
 

1. If you voluntarily quit your job, without good cause connected with your employment, you 
will be disqualified for the duration of your unemployment until you have returned to 
work, earned at least eight (8) times your weekly benefit amount in employment, and 
become unemployed again through no fault of your own.  

2. If you are found to have been discharged from your most recent work for misconduct 
connected with employment, you will be disqualified from receiving benefits (the full 20 
weeks).  

3. If you were discharged from your most recent work for cause connected with the 
employment, you may be disqualified for a period of not less than five (5) nor more than 
twenty (20) weeks, and your maximum benefit amount will be reduced by the number of 
weeks of disqualification times your weekly benefit amount. 

4. If you were discharged from your most recent job for gross misconduct connected with 
your employment, you will be disqualified for the duration of your unemployment until 
you have earned at least eight (8) times your weekly benefit amount in employment.   

5. If you fail to accept an offer of suitable work made by SC Works, your former employer, 
or any other employer, you may be disqualified for the duration of your unemployment, 
until you have earned at least eight (8) times your weekly benefit amount in employment. 

6. If you voluntarily retired from your last work, you may be disqualified for the duration of 
your unemployment until you have earned at least eight (8) times your weekly benefit 
amount in employment. 

7. If you are unemployed because of a labor dispute, you may be disqualified for the 
duration of such labor dispute. 
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Fraudulent Claims 
 

It is your responsibility to report any conditions which will affect your claim and rights to benefits. 

Any and all employment performed and gross wages (pay before taxes) earned during a claim 

period must be reported when a claim is filed.  

Giving any false information or withholding information in order to obtain or increase benefits is 
FRAUD and could subject you to criminal prosecution with penalties ranging from fines to up to 
10 years imprisonment.  
 
Any claimant found, by the Department, to have knowingly made a false statement or who 
knowingly failed to disclose a material fact when filing a payable claim to establish his right to or 
increase the amount of his Unemployment Insurance benefits, shall be ineligible to receive any 
further benefits for a "period of not less than ten (10) nor more than fifty-two (52) weeks." 
You must report ALL GROSS WAGES EARNED during the period for which you are filing a 
claim, EVEN IF YOU HAVE NOT BEEN PAID. YOU CAN BE PROSECUTED AND 
DISQUALIFIED FOR NOT REPORTING YOUR GROSS WAGES ON YOUR CLAIM. Gross 
wages means the total amount you were paid before any deductions were made. You should 
keep a record of your employment and earnings. Space is provided in the back of this guide for 
this purpose. 
 
DEW checks all wages reported by employers against benefits paid to claimants. If an 
overpayment is established, you will be required to repay all benefits computed to have been 
overpaid. If not repaid, the Department may attempt collection of overpayments through the 
South Carolina Department of Revenue by withholding the amount of the overpayment from 
your state tax refund and through the Internal Revenue Service by withholding the amount from 
your federal tax return. If this method is used, a collection fee of $25 is added for each attempt 
by the Department of Revenue. 

Request for Reconsideration 
 

If you are dissatisfied with a determination of your claim and have additional information to offer, 
you may file a "Request For Reconsideration," provided your request is made within 10 days of 
the date on which the determination was mailed to your last known address. If you do not have 
additional information to offer, you may file an appeal as outlined in the next section. 

Appeal Provisions 
 

You have a right to appeal any determination or redetermination made with respect to your 
benefit rights. Your appeal must be filed within 10 calendar days, including weekends and 

holidays, from the mailing date of the determination. If the tenth (10th) falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or holiday, the appeal period is extended to the next business day. Do not delay your 
appeal. If it is late, the Appeal Tribunal has no authority to consider it. 
 
There is no charge made for any appeal.  
 
If you file an appeal, you must continue file a timely claim each week. If you fail to report to an 
SC Works Center as instructed or fail to file timely claims, YOU WILL NOT BE PAID. When you 
file a claim for benefits, your bona fide employer (the last employer to pay you at least eight (8) 
times your weekly benefit amount) is notified, and he may protest the payment of benefits to 
you.  
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If your employer appeals a decision holding you eligible for benefits, you will be notified. This 
agency will continue to pay benefits to you pending the result of the appeal. If you are held 
ineligible for benefits, you will have to repay these benefits to the Department. 
 
There are three levels of appeals: Non-monetary determinations may be appealed to the Appeal 
Tribunal; Appeal Tribunal decisions may be appealed to the Appellate Panel; and the Appellate 
Panel's   decisions may be appealed to the Administrative Law Court. 
You may file an appeal by a letter addressed to:   
   

South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce 
Appeal Tribunal 
P.O. Box 995 

Columbia, S.C. 29202 
 
A letter requesting an appeal must include your name, Social Security number, and the date of 
the determination you wish to appeal. All letters must be signed by the claimant and state 
reasons for the appeal. 

Partial Employment 
 

Benefits may be paid to you for any week in which you work less than full-time because your 
employer does not have full-time work to offer you and you earn less than your weekly benefit 
amount. You may also apply for benefits for any week in which you are unemployed although 
you may have worked some "odd jobs," provided your earnings from these odd jobs are less 
than your weekly benefit amount. In either instance, you must report all earnings when filing 
your claim and make weekly job contacts for work. 
 
Your employer may file a partial claim for you. Your employer must report all earnings and 
applicable deductions (such as pensions) when he files the claim. You must inform your 
employer of any other earnings or pensions for that week, so that it can be reported on your 
claim. However, this will not prevent you from filing your own claim if you so desire, nor will it 
relieve you of the obligation of filing your claim for such partial employment, if the employer fails 
to file the claim for you.  
 
If you have earnings during any week for which you file a claim, the portion of your earnings in 
excess of one-fourth (25 percent) of your weekly benefit amount will be deducted from your 
benefit check.  
 

      Example 1  Example 2 
Your weekly benefit amount… $42 $42 
You report earnings of… 10 15 
Deduction from your check… -0 *-5 
Amount of your check… $42 $37 

* This represents the amount of earnings in excess of 1/4th of your weekly benefit amount. 
 
No written notice of determination will be furnished  to you in regard to a week in which your 
weekly benefit amount has been reduced as a result of reported earnings, unless there is a 
dispute concerning the reduction. 

Self-Employment 
 

If you are working for yourself (self-employed) or performing farming operations, you 
must report such employment when you file a claim. 
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Students 
 
If you are currently attending, or planning to attend, school or any type of training, you must 
report this when you file a claim. 

Interstate Benefits 
 

If you live outside of South Carolina and were separated from work with a South Carolina 
employer, you must file an out-of-state claim, commonly referred to as an Interstate claim, for 
unemployment benefits. 
(DEW) only accepts new, additional, and reopened Interstate claims online via 
the MyBenefits portal. 

If you need technical assistance filing your online Interstate claim, the Online Filing 

Assistance Line is available Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST. This line 

can be reached by dialing 1.800.529.8339.  

After you file an Interstate claim, you will receive a packet in the mail that contains various 

forms and important information. You will also receive the name and contact information for 

your claim representative.  You are assigned a claim representative based on the last four 

digits of your Social Security number. 

Individual Benefits 
After you file an initial claim to establish benefits, you will be paid on a week-to-week basis. 
 
You must qualify separately for each weekly payment by filing continued claims, which certify 
your continuing total or partial unemployment. Benefits are claimed after the claim week ends. 
Benefits cannot be paid in advance. 

Benefits Will Be Taxable 
 

The Tax Reform Act of 1986 provides that all unemployment benefits received after December 
31, 1986 are taxable. The Internal Revenue Service and the State Department of Revenue will 
furnish complete information on how to report and compute the tax.    
 
Individuals have the option of withholding federal and state taxes from their Unemployment 
Insurance benefits. Unless you choose to have taxes withheld, they will NOT be deducted from 
your Unemployment Insurance benefits. Until that time, it may be necessary for you to make 
estimated tax payments. For more information on when you should make estimated tax 
payments, see IRS Publication 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax, or the instructions for 
Form 1040-ES.  
 
You will be furnished a statement (Form 1099-G), after the end of the year, showing the amount 
of unemployment benefits you were paid. The Internal Revenue Service and the State 
Department of Revenue will be furnished the same information. 
 
It is the responsibility of each individual to inform DEW of any address change, so the Form 
1099-G is sent to the correct address.Your 1099-G can also be downloaded on the MyBenefits 
portal.  If you have any questions regarding taxation of benefits, you must contact either the 
Internal Revenue Service or the State Department of Revenue. Your SC Works Center cannot 
answer any questions on this matter. 

https://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/
httphttps://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/_sso/MyDew/DEWLogon.aspx?ru=====
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Filing Your Weekly Claim 
 

After filing your initial claim application, you must certify each week for which you want to 
receive benefits that you have met the eligibility requirements. Weekly claims must be filed 
within two weeks of the claim week ending date to be considered for payment. You may file your 
weekly claim online at mybenefits.dew.sc.gov or by telephone at 1.866.831.1724. If you are 
unable to file your weekly claim through one of these methods, you may speak with a UI claim 
representative by calling 1.866.831.1724 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays. Late claims may 
not be eligible for payment. 

Filing Your Weekly Claim Online 
 

You may file your weekly claim online at MyBenefits.dew.sc.gov. If you are new to the site, you 
will need to create an account first following the instructions on the site.  
 
Once you have created an account, choose "File your weekly claim" from the My Benefits home 
page. Follow the instructions on the Online Claimant System.  
 
You may also check your benefit payment status and View/Print your 1099-G for the most 
recently completed tax year on this site. 
  

Filing Your Weekly Claim by TelClaim 
 
TelClaim lets you file your weekly claim and access information about your claim’s status. 

SC residents can call 1.866.831.1724 from 4:00 a.m. until midnight. 

Non-residents can call 1.866.831.1725. Both lines are toll free, and services are provided 

free to claimants.  

You can call to check the status of your payment only Tuesdays through Saturdays. 

Filing weekly claims by phone requires: 

 A touch-tone phone 

 Your Social Security number 

 Your Personal Identification Number (PIN) 

When you set up your account with TelClaim, you choose a PIN, which can be any four-digit 

number you select except 0000 or 9999. TelClaim will request your Social Security number 

and your PIN. (Protect your PIN and you protect your claim.) If you enter your PIN incorrectly 

three times, TelClaim will suspend system access.  

Listen carefully to the instructions. Do not hang up until TelClaim says, “Your claim has been 

accepted.” If you hang up before this message or get disconnected, you must call again to 

file your claim. 

TelClaim works only for filing weekly claims. You must file your initial—or first claim—
via the MyBenefits web portal.  If you don't have computer access, you can apply 
online at one of many service locations across the state.  

http://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/
https://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/_sso/MyDew/DEWLogon.aspx?ru=====
http://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/
http://dew.sc.gov/about-service-locations.asp
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If you need assistance applying for benefits, claims representatives are available 
through Telclaim at 1.866.831.1724 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays.  

Steps for Filing on TelClaim 

 
After you have called, entered your Social Security number and have identified yourself with 
PIN, listen carefully. You will be given the claim week ending date to be filed. You will be asked 
the following questions and instructed how to answer these questions using the buttons on the 
telephone.  

 
1. "Did you work? Press 1 for YES or 9 for NO. To repeat a question, Press 0." If you press 

1 for YES to indicate you did work, the system will ask you how much you earned. Enter 
the number of dollars you earned during the week and press the star * key. Then enter 
the number of cents and press the star * key again. If you earned $1,000.00 or more, 
enter $999.99. 

 
NOTE:  If you did work during the week you are claiming, report your earnings for the 
week, even if you have not received your pay. It is important you enter the gross amount 
you earned, not the amount you were paid. Failure to report your earnings can result in 
prosecution for fraudulently claiming unemployment benefits. 
   

2. "Did you refuse work, quit a job, or were you dismissed from a job? Press 1 for YES or 9 
for NO. To repeat a question, press 0." 

3.  "Were you able to work, available for work and looking for work as instructed by the 
claims office? Press 1 for YES or 9 for NO. To repeat a question, press 0."  

 
THE SYSTEM WILL REPEAT YOUR ANSWERS TO YOU AND THEN IT WILL SAY… 

4. "Press 1 if the answers are correct. Press 9 if you want to change an answer." 
 
DO NOT HANG UP until the system tells you, "Your claim has been accepted." You will have to 
call again to file your claim for benefits if you are disconnected. 
 
If you realize you have made a mistake AFTER your claim has been accepted and you've hung 
up the phone, you may call back and file your claim again, as long as you call before 6 p.m. the 
same day. The TelClaim System will process the last call received. 

New Hires 
 
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 requires each 
state to collect information from employers on all newly hired employees. Under the provisions 
of the Code, the information obtained is used to identify individuals who returned to work and 
continued to file for unemployment benefits. The Benefit Payment Control Section (BPC), of 
DEW’s Unemployment Insurance  Division, conducts weekly cross-matches against the State 
and National Directory of New Hires and the unemployment benefit payment history to identify 
these  individuals. Individuals identified by this crossmatch system are referred for investigation 
of potential benefit fraud under provisions of the South Carolina Code that limits earnings while 
receiving unemployment benefits.  

Working and Reporting Earnings 

 
It is important that you report earnings for any days worked during the claim week, even if you 
have not received your pay. Please refer to Commonly Asked Questions About How and 
When to Report Your Earnings, a brochure that is included with the Claimant Handbook.  

http://dew.sc.gov/claim-telclaim.asp
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Record of Benefit Payments 

 
Sequence Number Date Issued Week Ending Date 

(CWE) 
Amount 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

 
 

Daily Record of Wages Earned 

 
Date Hours Worked Employer Earnings 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

  

  

Important Contact Information 
 

TelClaim: 1-866-831-1724 
TelClaim for Out of State Residents: 1-866-831-1725 
Interstate Claims Online Assistance Filing Line: 1-800-529-8339 
SC Department of Employment and Workforce: 803-737-2400 
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Service Location Directory: dew.sc.gov/directory 
 

Unemployment Insurance Division 

 
 
Mission 
To promote economic stability and relieve the hardships of unemployment by using employer 
contributions to pay benefits to eligible individuals. 

 
Vision 
The Unemployment Insurance Division provides a quality service to the public through a well-trained, 
motivated, ethical, professional workforce; effective management of resources; a positive work 
environment; and commitment to a continued tradition of excellence.  
 

 DEW homepage: dew.sc.gov 
  File Online:  mybenefits.dew.sc.gov 

  

http://dew.sc.gov/about-service-locations.asp
http://dew.sc.gov/
http://mybenefits.dew.sc.gov/
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Base Period Charts 

 

STANDARD BASE PERIOD EXPLAINED 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

 Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

 
                 If your claim’s effective 
                   date is in:  

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

 Apr 

May 

Jun 

 

 Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

 Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan  

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

 Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

                    Last Year                     This Year 
The base period is the first four of the last five completed quarters.  
The base period is controlled by the effective date of the claim, not by the date one became 

unemployed. Using the table above, if the claim is effective during the first three months (the first 
quarter) of the year, then the base period is the first three quarters in last year plus the last quarter of 
the previous year. This is true even if the claim is effective on March 31, the last day of the quarter. If 
the claim is effective during the period of April through June 30, the base period is the four quarters of 
the prior year.  

 

ALTERNATE BASE PERIOD EXPLAINED 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

L   Oct 

A   Nov 

G   Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

 
                 If your claim’s effective 
                   date is in:  

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

L   Jan 

A   Feb 

G   Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

 

 Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

L   Apr 

A   May 

G   Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

 

Jan 

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

Jul 

Aug 

Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

Jan  

Feb 

Mar 

Apr 

May 

Jun 

L   Jul 

A   Aug 

G   Sep 

Oct 

Nov 

Dec 

                    Last Year                     This Year 
The base period is the first four of the last five completed quarters.  
The alternate base period (ABP) is the four most recently completed calendar quarters. 
The base period is controlled by the effective date of the claim, not by the date one became 
unemployed. Using the table above, if the claim is effective during the first three months (the first 
quarter) of the year, then the base period is the first three quarters in last year plus the last quarter of 

the previous year. This is true even if the claim is effective on March 31, the last day of the quarter. If 
the claim is effective during the period of April through June 30, the base period is the four quarters of 

the prior year.  

 

 


