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Employers Must Use New 12-A 

The South Carolina Workers' 
Compensation Commission has 
changed a number of forms used to 
document on-the-job accidents and 
verify payment of disability and 
medical benefits. SAF will begin 
using the new forms as of 
August 15th. 

Most obvious to policyholders will 
be the revision in the wee Form 
12-A, also known as the ACORD-4 
or the First Report of Injury. The 
12-A has been reformatted to 
facilitate the use of Electronic Data 
Interchange (EDI) between 
insurance carriers such as SAF 
(see page 4) and the Workers' 
Compensation Commission. 

The revised 12-A also captures 
additional information which will 
better classify the nature and 
severity of workplace accidents, 
which will be important because of 
statutory changes in accident 
reporting procedures (see page 3.) 

Minor changes were also made to 
other forms to enhance collection 
of statistical data. Also, the forms 
normally seen by lost-time 
claimants and policyholders 
including WCC Form 15 

(Agreement for Compensation), 
Form 17 (Receipt of 
Compensation), and Form 19 
(Status Report and Compensation 
Receipt) will no longer be printed 
on colored paper. 

The WCC Form 20 (Statement of 
Days Worked and Earnings of 
Injured Employee) will now allow 
for reporting of the maximum 
compensation rate without 
completion of the entire form. 
(Note: This form will be abolished 
at a later date as a result of the 
passage of H3838 - see page 3.) 

As a service to our policyholders, 
the SAF Employer Manual has 
been updated to reflect these 
changes. This update, along with 
hard copies of the revised Form 
12-A will be sent to all claims 
contact personnel by July 15th. 

For your information, copies of the 
Form 12-A may be printed or 
reproduced, so long as the copies 
provide the same print quality as 
the original. The coloration and 
format cannot be altered. 

Questions? Call Janis Howard at 
(803) 737-8171 or (800) 521-6576. 



Litigation can be a long process 
One of the most confusing and time­
consuming components of the claims 
management system is the litigation 
process by which contested issues are 
resolved between SAF and an injured 
worker. 

During the life of a claim, disagreements 
may arise as to if, when, how much, or 
how long benefits may be payable. If the 
disagreement can't be resolved between 
the parties, South Carolina workers' 
compensation law provides for an 
administrative hearing process. 

A claimant may request a hearing before 
the Workers' Compensation Commission 
at any time. SAF may request a "stop 
payment" hearing to terminate benefits. 
An initial hearing will be held before a 
Single Commissioner in the county where 
the injury occurred. As a result of new 
statutes (see page 3), "stop payment" 
hearings must be held within 60 days of 
the request. 

The Single Commissioner will normally 
issue an Order within 45 days after the 
hearing, usually including instructions as 
to what benefits are payable. This Order 
may be appealed by either party within 14 
days. 

Did you know ... 
Before you consider hiring an 
independent consultant to provide 
professional services and training related 
to workers' compensation matters, give us 
a call! 

As part of your policy coverage, you are 
entitled to receive a variety of services 
designed to minimize your workers' 
compensation costs. We can provide 
information, historical data, advice, and 
training on: 

• return-to-work programs 
• estimated premiums 
• audit adjustments 
• payroll reports 
• claims reporting procedures 
• premium calculations 

If an appeal is requested, the Order will 
not be enforced until the case is heard by 
a Full Commission panel. 

This level of judicial review (with a 60-90 
day wait) involves three (3) 
commissioners. The panel reviews the 
grounds of appeal filed by either or both 
parties and listens to brief oral arguments. 

The Full Commission panel will then issue 
their Order which affirms, amends, or 
reverses the Single Commissioner's 
Order. At this point, all benefits due and 
payable under the Order must be paid, 
even if the Order is appealed, which must 
be done within 30 days. 

Beyond the Full Commission level, 
judicial review enters the regular civil 
court system at the Circuit Court level. 
An appeal at this level may not be heard 
for up to 18 months. At this point, only 
issues of law, not fact, may be argued. 

Generally, the final body of appellate 
jurisdiction for workers' compensation 
litigation is the SC Supreme Court, which 
currently has a one to two year backlog. 

Hopefully, this explanation may shed 
some light on why some cases seem to 
"drag on for years• without a resolution. 

• experience modification ratings 
• cost containment procedures 
• preferred provider programs 
• safety programs 
• case reserves 
• Second Injury Fund recoveries . 
• third party recoveries 

In addition, SAF also has an in-house 
"Consulting Team• of workers' 
compensation professionals who can 
provide creative solutions for your unique 
problems or concerns. 

All of these services are available at no 
additional cost to you. Contact Shawn 
Holman, Member Services Manager, for 
more information at (803) 737-8115 or 
(800) 521-6576. 



Reform Legislation Becomes State Law 
The South Carolina General Assembly has approved 
major changes to the SC Workers' Compensation 
Act (SC Title 42) which will drastically alter the 
workers' compensation process for employers, 
employees, and insurance carriers in South Carolina. 

This legislation, combined with new forms and 
changes in administrative reporting requirements 
(see page 1), reflects the greatest change in SC 
workers' compensation law and regulations since the 
Act was created in 1935. Some of the amendments 
to the Act also codify recent SC case law, as well as, 
administrative interpretations made by the SC 
Workers' Compensation Commission. 

House Bill 3838 includes a number of provisions 
designed to simplify and clarify some of the 
processes by which eligibility for workers' 
compensation benefits is determined, as well as, the 
timeframes for starting and terminating disability 
benefits. The bill also abolishes the "Opt Out" 
provision, which gave private employers the ability to 
reject coverage under SC Title 42. 

Final implementation of the legislation will be 
contingent on the creation of wee administrative 
regulations, which will address specific procedures to 
implement these changes. These regulations must 
then be approved by the SC General Assembly, in 
accordance with the SC Administrative Procedures 
Act. These regulations may not be approved until 
January, 1997. 

The legislation , which was signed into law by 
Governor David Beasley on June 18th provides for: 

• a new method for computing the "average 
weekly wage." The average weekly wage 
(A WW) will be determined by taking the total 
wages paid to a claimant over the last four 
quarters prior to an accident and dividing by 
fifty-two weeks, or the actual number of weeks 
the claimant was paid, whichever is less. 

Wage information will now be verified from 
employer reports already submitted to the SC 
Employment Security Commission . The WCC 
Form 20 will be eliminated in the near future. 

• a reinterpretation of stress as an on-the-job 
injury. This change codifies South Carolina 
case law requiring that "extraordinary and 
unusual" conditions must be present in the 
workplace in order for an original claim of mental 
illness or injury to be compensable. 

Claims for stress as a result of normal employer­
employee relations (disciplinary actions, salary 
reviews, evaluations, transfers, promotions, 
demotions, or terminations) are not 
compensable. The only exception is when these 
actions are taken in an extraordinary and 
unusual manner. 

• changes in the initiation and termination 
requirements relative to the payment of 
temporary-total (TT) disability benefits. TT 
benefits may be initiated after eight (8) days of 
disability, and may be terminated within 150 
days from the date of injury without approval of 
the Workers' Compensation Commission if: 
after a good faith investigation, the claim is 
denied; the claimant returns (or agrees that he/ 
she is able to return) to work; the claimant 
refuses medical treatment; or if the claimant 
does not return to work after being released to do 
so by the treating physician. 

• a provision requiring prompt "Stop payment" 
hearings. As before, any dispute between a 
claimant and an employer/carrier will be resolved 
by the Workers' Compensation Commission, but 
a "stop payment" hearing must be held within 60 
days of the employer/carrier's request. 

• a restriction preventing health-care providers 
from pursuing collection actions against 
claimants for costs of medical treatment prior 
to the final adjudication of a claim. All 
requests for payment must be made to the 
employer/carrier until the claim is settled and the 
file is closed. Generally, bills must be paid or 
denied within 30 days of submission by a 
provider. 

• a change in accident reporting requirements. 
Employers must still maintain a on-site record of 
all workplace accidents. However, only claims 
meeting a predetermined level of medical 
severity will have to be reported to the wee and 
the carrier. The criteria has yet to be specified. 

What does all of this mean to you??? At present, 
SAF and other carriers are working closely with the 
Workers' Compensation Commission to assess and 
clarify the immediate impact of these changes. As 
the Commission still has a large number of technical 
and procedural issues to address, SAF will keep you 
posted as information becomes available. 

Questions? Please call Rose Mary McGregor at 
(803) 737-8155 or (800) 521-6576. 



participant seating is still available for the 

Workers' Compensation Employer Seminar 
August 13-14 or November 13-14, 1996 

at SAF headquarters in Columbia, SC 

The seminar focuses on the practical application of the South Carolina Workers' 
Compensation Act, as it relates to the reporting , processing, and management of on-the-job 
accident claims. NEW SC WCC FORMS AND PROCEDURES WILL BE COVERED/I/ 

Attendees will gain a basic education in claims reporting and management, premium 
determination, and how to create a safety program. Participants can also meet with SAF 
staff members to discuss specific areas of concern. 

Instruction is provided by SAF employees who are experienced in specific areas of 
technical knowledge - - litigation, third party and Second Injury Fund recovery , OSHA 
regulations, workers' compensation regulations, and SAF policy and procedures. 

To register, return the participant form with your check or purchase order for $40 to 

State Accident Fund 
Attn: WCES 

PO Box 102100 
Columbia, SC 29221-5000 

Confirmation, lodging information, and a map will be sent 2 weeks before each session. 
Registrations are transferable, but not refundable. Seminar hours are 9 a.m.- 4 p.m. Lunch is not 
included. SAF's FEIN is R12000000. Call Walter Caudle at (803) 737-7546 for more information. 

Workers' Compensation Employer Seminar Registration Form 

Name 
SSN :_-_---~--~--~----_-_-_-_-_-_-_-~T-i-tl_e_:~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
Agency:~~-------------------------------------------------­
Agency Address: -----------------------------------------------

Telephone Number 
~--------------------------------------------

Session you would like to attend -------------------------------------



SAF Installs New Claims Processing System 

State Accident Fund is pleased to 
announce that, effective July 1, the 
agency will begin Phase 1 of a multi­
year project involving the 
development of a "state of the art" 
computer system which will be 
tailored to the special needs of our 
policyholders, providers, and 
employees. 

This project will improve efficiency 
and effectiveness in a number of 
operational areas, including: 

• enhancing customer service 
• reducing claims costs 
• minimizing operating expenses 
• maximizing data collection 
• facilitating future growth 

A modem, multi-functional computer 
system has been a Strategic Plan 
priority of SAF since 1993. However, 
the project had been stalled as a 
result of SC state government 
reorganization until 1994. Fiscal 
concerns then caused the project to 
be broken down into phases that 
could be undertaken as funds 
became available. 

IBM, in partnership with Information 
Engineering Inc. and Lawson 
Accounting Systems, will be 
responsible for providing hardware, 
software, and customized 
programming which will replace the 
agency's 1980's era VAX system. A 
PC-based local area network (LAN) 
will be supported by an in-house AIX 
operating system ·and RISC System 
6000 server. 

The system will utilize a Oracle!SQL 

database, along with customized 
PowerComp Claims and Medical Pay 
and Lawson Accounting software. 
Further, each PC will be equipped 
with Windows 95 and associated 
software. 

Installation of Phase 1 also includes 
the initiation of a limited Electronic 
Data Interchange (EDI) process, 
which will give SAF the ability to 
transmit WCC Form 12-A accident 
reporting data to the SC Workers' 
Compensation Commission (see 
page 1) via electronic media. Plans 
also call for allowing medical 
providers to submit electronic billing 
invoices. 

Most of these improvements should 
be completed during FY1996-1997. 
Future enhancements, such as 
electronic imaging, expanded EDI , 
and computer-integrated telephony 
(CIT) service will be added as funding 
becomes available. 

IBM will provide eight (8) on-site 
employees and maintain a base of 
operations at SAF for the duration of 
this project. In addition, SAF has 
reclassified a number of existing 
position vacancies to provide funding 
for additional technical employees to 
manage internal programming and 
operational functions. 

In addition to providing better service 
to our existing customers, this system 
also provides the capability for 
expansion should the need ever 
arise. 

Stay tuned for progress updates .. . 
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If a claimant's medical bill is not getting paid ... 

it may be because of complications 
associated with IRS regulations requiring 
that a medical provider's name and 
Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN) 
submitted on the HCFA 1500 or U8-95 
billing fonn match exactly with IRS 
records. 

At present, the SC Comptroller General's 
Office will not allow SAF to pay medical 
providers who submit invoices with 
contradictory payee information. We must 
ask the provider to submit a new invoice 
with infonnation that matches IRS records. 

So that all policyholders are kept infonned 
of this situation, SAF recently began 
sending notification letters to medical 
providers and affected employers 
advising that problems exist regarding 
specific invoices. 

If a new and correct (not hand-corrected) 
invoice is not submitted within two (2) 
weeks, we will again notify the provider 
and the employer in writing that the bill 

FUND JJ!t1J(;!M'tf JJI!.$ 
State Accident Fund 
PO Box 102100 
Columbia, SC 29221-5000 

cannot be paid without complying with 
IRS regulations. 

If you receive a notice indicating that a 
claimant's bill is not being paid, we 
strongly encourage you to contact the 
provider and ask them to submit the 
proper infonnation so that we can pay the 
bill in a prompt manner. 

For more infonnation, call Janice Hannon 
at (803) 737-8135 or (800) 521-6576 

WELCOME 
TO OUR 

NEW 
POLICYHOLDERS ... 

Midlands Council on Aging 

Town of Pacolet, SC 
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