
BULLETIN NUMBER 2008-10 

TO: Insurers Writing Workers' Compensation Insurance Business in South Carolina 

FROM: Scott H. Richardson, CPC 
Director 

SUBJECT: Workers' Compensation Loss Cost Filing/Adoption Procedures 

DATE: May 29, 2008 

PURPOSE: 

The National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) is the workers' compensation rating 
organization in South Carolina. As such, they file the prospective loss costs with the South 
Carolina Department of Insurance (Department) for approval. This bulletin specifies the 
procedures for insurer members of NCCI to adopt the approved loss costs and outlines the 
procedures for the filing of the insurer's loss cost multiplier (LCM). 

PROCEDURE FOR ADOPTING NE\V LOSS COSTS 

South Carolina is an auto-adopt state; however, each insurer must individually determine the 
final rates it will file and the effective date of any rate changes. South Carolina law requires a 
rate filing be submitted for approval when an insurer wishes to adopt a new loss cost. See S.C. 
Code Ann. §38-73-520 (2002). A separate fonn, Form 2008-A, Filing Adoption Fonn, has been 
created to expedite this process. If the insurer member decides to adopt updated approved loss 
costs, the insurer must submit Fonn 2008-A along with its filing. NCCI members are authorized 
to continue to use filed and approved rates until the rate is disapproved or the insurer makes its 
own filing to change its rates either by making an independent filing or by filing Form 2008-A, 
adopting NCCI's prospective loss costs and it is approved. The insurer must submit this form 
prior to adopting an approved loss cost. The insurer's rates will be the product of the approved 
loss costs and the insurer's approved loss cost multiplier. 

PROCEDlJRE FOR ADOPTING NE\V LOSS COST MULTIPLIERS 

South Carolina law requires insurers to file for approval any changes made to the loss cost 
multiplier. See S.C. Code Ann. §38-73-525. Bulletin 2007-13B requires changes to the loss cost 
multiplier be made on Form 2007-A at least 30 days prior to implementation. In accordance 
with South Carolina law, a copy of this form must also be submitted to the Consumer Advocate. 



Insurers have also been required to provide a copy of their desk file copy of the LCM filing to 
the Department. See S.C. Department of Insurance Bulletin No. 2007 -13B. Insurers were 
required to submit the desk file copy of their LCM showing their calculation of the LCM within 
60 days of the date of the bulletin. Loss cost adjustments will remain in effect until the insurer 
withdraws them or files and receives approval of a revised LCM. 

What follovvs is a list of several scenarios designed to address questions about the appropriate 
procedures to follow. 

If. .. 

The insurer decides to use a revision 
of the prospective loss costs and effective 
date as filed and approved ... 

Then ... 

The insurer must file the Forn1 2008-A, 
Filing Adoption Fonn, for approval. 

The insurer decides to use the prospective The insurer must file Form 2008-A and loss 
costs as filed but with a different notify the Department of its effective effective date ... 

date. 

The insurer decides to use the revision 
of the prospective loss costs, and wishes 
to change its loss cost multiplier. .. 

The insurer decides not to revise its 
rates using the prospective loss costs ... 

The insurer decides not to revise its 
rates using the prospective loss costs 
but wishes to update its loss cost 
multiplier. .. 

The insurer does not wish to revise 
its loss cost multiplier. .. 

The insurer must file for approval Fonn 
2008-A and a revised 2007-A fonn. 

The insurer does not file anything with 
the Department. 

The insurer does not file anything with 
the Department for the loss cost, but 
must file a revised Form 2007-A for 
the LCM for approval. 

The insurer does not file anything with 
the Department, but must have the 
desk copy on file with the Department. 

Bulletins 2007-13 and 2007-138 describe in detail the information required to be filed for the 
loss cost multiplier. These bulletins may be accessed by visiting the Department's website at 
http:.//www.doi.sc.gov. Additional questions concerning this bulletin 1 should be directed to 
Carla Griffin at 803-737-6230 or cgriffin@doi.sc.gov. 

1 Bulletins are the method by which the Director of Insurance forn1ally communicates with 
persons and entities regulated by the Department. Bulletins are departmental interpretations of 
South Carolina insurance laws and regulations and provide guidance on the Department's 
enforcement approach. Bulletins do not provide legal advice. Readers should consult applicable 
statutes and regulations or contact an attorney of their choice for legal advice or if additional 
information is needed. 



FORM 2008-A 

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
INSURER RATE FILING ADOPTION OF RATING ORGANIZATION 

PROSPECTIVE LOSS COSTS 

DATE: 
~~----~ 

INSURER NAME 

ADDRESS 

PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR FILING ______________ _ 

TITLE --------------------------

TELEPHONE _________ _ 

INSURER NAIC # _________ _ 

LINE OF BUSINESS ----------

RATING ORGANIZATION _____ _ 

REFERENCE FILING # ---------

PROPOSED RATE LEVEL CHANGE ___ %) EFFECTIVE DATE __ _ 

PRIOR DATE OF APPROVED LOSS COST BEING USED ________ _ 

LOSS COST MULTIPLIER- DATE OF LAST FILING APPROVED _____ _ 

DESK COPY SUBMISSION DATE -------------------


